Same story…but now some people call it by a different name: Location Analytics.  Here is an article demonstrating how a multi-national retailer is using “geomarketing” to make better decisions.  Here is my take away:

The combined solution joins key business intelligence (BI) data with spatial location, resulting in improved store performance driven by better marketing decisions.

GIS desktop tools have been used for years for this purpose.  These days it is about mashing data with web tools to provide an informative, real-time experience.  In Y2K I had a phone interview with the Buxton Company in Fort Worth, TX.  I was enthralled with their work and often wonder how different my career could have turned out had I considered it further.  Regardless, spatial location continues to be the hidden puzzle piece that brings the big picture into focus.

